Monday Geology Picture(s): Gold Reef City– Gold Pouring Demonstration

Gold pouring demonstration? Sounds highly interesting! Those "This demonstration is not performed with real gold" signs were everywhere. I guess it would be very tempting to steal the gold otherwise!

After entering through the impressive entrance and going on the underground mine tour, my husband and I went to the gold pouring demonstration at Gold Reef City, a theme park in Johannesburg, South Africa that is situated on the site of an old gold mine. We visited the theme park back in September 2012.

The gold pouring demonstration doesn’t use real gold but is nevertheless impressive! Also, there is a real gold brick (I think– possibly it’s a fake brick) displayed on a table at the end of the demonstration. My husband tells me that in the old days they used to say that whoever could pick up the gold brick with just two fingers could take it home with them. I don’t think anyone was ever successful!

The gold price in September 2012. This sign is updated daily, I believe. The gold price has dropped significantly since last September.
Another reminder.
Demonstration #1.
Demonstration #2.
Demonstration #3.
Demonstration #4.
Hot hot hot!
Hot and glowing.
A real gold brick. I think. Possibly this is a fake brick.

That’s all for now. I’ll share some more pictures from Gold Reef City next week.

Leave a comment