Monday Geology Picture(s): Gold Reef City– The Entrance

At the front gate: old ore crushing equipment. This is called a "stampmill".

Back in November, I shared a couple of pictures from a trip to the Gold Reef City theme park in Johannesburg, South Africa. Over the next few weeks, I thought I would share some more pictures from a visit to this gold mine turned amusement park. My husband and I visited the theme park back in September 2012 when we were up in Johannesburg for my sister-in-law’s wedding. If you are ever in Johannesburg, I highly recommend a visit to Gold Reef City!

This week, I thought I would share a few pictures from the front entrance to the theme park. There is plenty of gold mining themed decoration!

Headed toward the front entrance gate.
A wider view of the crushing equipment.
A close-up shot of some of the crushers.
Informational sign about the crushing equipment. Click to enlarge.
Gold miner friend #1.
Gold miner friend #2. Actually, this picture shows three gold miners since my husband and I work for a gold exploration company. I think our miner friend is telling us how tall we have to be in order to go on the rides.
I wore my gold flake earrings, which I bought in Alaska.
To the theme park!

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Geology Picture(s): Gold Reef City– The Entrance

  1. I think this place is amazing! I wanna go and visit this old gold mine and see the old instruments they use to extract gold. This will be one exciting summer, I bet! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment