Monday Geology Picture: A Granodiorite Horus

An ancient Egyptian Horus statue, The British Museum, November 2014.
An ancient Egyptian Horus statue, The British Museum, November 2014.

For this week’s “Monday Geology Picture” I thought that I would share a couple more pictures that I took during my recent visit to The British Museum. When I was in one of the exhibits with ancient Egyptian artefacts, I was struck by a beautiful dark-colored Horus statue with a light-colored vein running through it. According to the museum sign, the statue was carved out of granodiorite. The vein is probably quartz.

Here is the museum sign about the statue:

Museum sign. Click to enlarge.
Museum sign. Click to enlarge.

And here is a view of the statue from the front:

The Horus statue viewed from the front.
The Horus statue viewed from the front. Apologies that the picture is slightly blurry.

Leave a comment