Monday Geology Picture(s): Gold Reef City– Trains

Exploring one of Gold Reef City's many trains.

I have a few more pictures to share with you from my September 2012 visit to Gold Reef City, a gold mining themed amusement park in Johannesburg, South Africa. Check out some of my previous “Monday Geology Picture” posts for some more pictures from the park.

This week I’m sharing some pictures of trains. One of the things that I like about Gold Reef City is that there are trains (or train-like things? I’m not sure all of these pictures show true trains) throughout the park. The trains fit well with the park’s mining theme– I imagine that there were many trains among the mines of Johannesburg in the past. If anyone is a train buff and knows anything about these trains, please feel free to leave a comment below.

Another view of the little orange train.
I think this maybe isn't a train? Anyone know what it is?
A train... and a peacock! There are peacocks wandering throughout the park. They're lovely. Also, that's a rollercoaster in the background.
My husband Jackie posing next to one of the trains.
Another little train? Or train-like thing?
Another train with peacocks.

I still have a few more pictures to share from Gold Reef City. Over the next couple of weeks, I want to share some pictures from the historical exhibits that will give some insight into what life was like for mine bosses and their workers during early Johannesburg mining days. Life wasn’t too great for many of the workers, but you’ll learn more about that next week. It’s a fascinating history.

One thought on “Monday Geology Picture(s): Gold Reef City– Trains

Leave a comment