One Year Blogaversary!

Paper lanterns above the streets of Chinatown, Singapore, August 2007.

Today is my one-year blogaversary! Georneys began on November 2nd, 2010 with my post “Welcome!” The information in the welcome post has since been replaced by the “About Georneys” tab above. My first real blog post was “Geology Word of the Week: A is for Alluvium.” Over the past year, I’ve cycled through nearly two alphabets of geology words, shared photographs from various geological journeys, written about the Japan Earthquake, taken breaks from geology to blog about the Fukushima nuclear power plant disaster, written about graduate school trials and tribulations, suggested various “holiday rocks” (though I recently forgot Halloween! Eek!), participated in a few Accretionary Wedges, put up funny pictures and old bits of writing from my youth, pondered mystery rocks sent in by readers, mused over topics ranging from statistics to mass spectrometers, and expressed (very vocally) my disdain for Young Earth Creationists. I wasn’t quite able to post a Geology Word of the Week every week, but I did fairly well. I only missed seven weeks: four weeks during the interviews with my father about Fukushima, and three weeks recently when I was busy with my wedding. Never fear! The Geology Word of the Week will resume this week with S is for Schist.

I’ve had a wonderful first year of blogging. I’ve especially enjoyed the interactions I’ve had with other geobloggers and also with many of my blog readers. I feel very honored that my young blog was invited to join AGU Blogosphere. I think this is a wonderful home for my blog. As I finish up my thesis over the next few months, my blogging may occasionally be somewhat sparse, but I’ll do my best to at least keep up with the Geology Word of the Week and other tidbits as time permits. Here’s to another wonderful year of blogging!

5 thoughts on “One Year Blogaversary!

  1. Oh Great!! My favorite Geologic word – Schist!! Happy Blogoversary. May you enjoy many more – or should I say – may WE enjoy many more, given that those of us who read this blog get more out of it than you put in. Truly.

    Like

Leave a comment